The College Board (the Board) is a Company Limited by Guarantee. The Members of the Board represent and are accountable to the Trustees of the Order of St Augustine through the Prior Provincial and his Council.  The Board of Directors appointed by the Members, is responsible for the Governance of St Augustine’s College – Sydney (the College) 

Membership of the College Board may include:

  • Augustinian priests
  • Current and past Parents
  • Old Boys
  • Individuals with requisite expertise

The composition of the Board seeks to provide an appropriate range of experience, skills, knowledge and perspective to enable it to carry out its obligations and responsibilities.

2018 College Board


Fr Minh-Tan Hoang OSA is a priest with the Order of St Augustine. He was ordained to the priesthood in 2010. Currently, he is Vocation Director and Formator of the pre-novitiate. Formerly Director of Professed Students and Chaplain of Villanova College. 

Fr Michael Sullivan OSA is a priest with the Order of St Augustine. Currently, he is Prior and Assistant Priest at St Joseph's Church, South Yarra. Previous roles include Prior of the Region of Korea; Student Master and Director of Novices in Incheon, Korea; Teacher at Catholic University Seoul, Korea; Teacher at Catholic University Incheon, Korea (Inchon Campus and Kanghwa Campus) and Teacher at Hubei University China. 

Fr Senan Ward OSA is a priest with the Order of St Augustine. Currently, he is the Chaplain at St Augustine’s College. Formerly, Director HIV/AIDS Pastoral Care for Parramatta Diocese and teacher at St Augustine’s College.

Fr Peter Wieneke OSA is a priest with the Order of St Augustine. He is the Chaplain at Villanova College and Prior at Villanova Priory in Brisbane.

Mike Ryan (Chair from 2014) is a partner with an investment bank with 26 years’ experience in the international and domestic finance industry. Mike is Chairman of the College Finance and Audit Committee, Building Committee (from August 2015) and Succession Planning Committee.

Gabrielle McKinnon is a current parent at the College. Gabrielle is involved voluntarily with numerous school and church-based activities. Previously, 10 years secondary teaching in Victorian Catholic Schools which included the role of Year 7 Co-ordinator. Member of the College Foundation Committee, Board Succession Committee and Board Policy Committee.

Kate Shaw is a former parent of the College. Currently, Tertiary Supervisor at Notre Dame University. Previous experience as Year Co-ordinator at St Luke’s Grammar School and Head of Science at St Mary Mackillop College, Canberra and St Dominic’s College, Penrith. Chairperson of North Harbour Parish Social Justice Committee. Member of the College Building Committee.

Peter Walsh is a current parent at the College. Director of a national property development, advisory and sales business with 23 years’ experience in the property industry. Volunteer for local community, school, sporting and church groups. Member of the College Finance and Audit Committee and Building Committee.

Amanda Whitfield is currently the Head of the CSSA (Catholic Secondary Schools Association) Trial HSC Examination Division and operates an educational consultancy business. Amanda has over 20 years in secondary teaching and is a Member of the College Board Policy Committee.

Company Secretary

David Holland is currently the Head of Business and Finance at St Augustine’s College with a management, IT and finance background in banking and consultancy. David is a Member of the College Finance and Audit Committee and the Building Committee.

Good governance requires the College Board to:

  • Ensure the College fulfils its educational goals in an Augustinian environment and acts in a manner which models the College’s core values and ethos.
  • Adapt to the distinctive characteristics of an Augustinian academic environment and act so as to exemplify and reinforce the College’s core values and ethos
  • Ensure a strategic approach to the College’s future by setting major goals, policy frameworks and strategies
  • Review plans and budgets established by College management
  • Anticipate issues, where possible, and act to diffuse them
  • Establish committees, where appropriate
  • Review and monitor adherence to systems of risk management, governance compliance and legal compliance
  • Monitor organisational performance
  • Conduct an annual review of the College’s progress in meeting its objectives

Beyond these items the Board delegates to the College Principal the authority to achieve stated objectives. 

The Principal is responsible for implementing a shared vision for the College and takes overall responsibility for the operation and management of the educational enterprise of the College. This position is supported by the College Leadership Team which consists of:

  • Jonathan Byrne: Principal
  • Anthony Bataille: Head of Strategy and Compliance
  • Daniel Fee: Acting Deputy Principal – Students
  • David Holland: Head of Business and Finance
  • John Laforest: Deputy Principal – Academic
  • Peter Nolan: Deputy Principal – Mission and Wellbeing
  • John Papahatzis: Assistant Principal – Sport and Co-curricular
  • Danielle Stanway: Assistant Principal – Staff
  • Terry Walsh: Head of Primary School

The Principal is the Head of Agency in all matters related to Child Protection.

tourCreated with Sketch Beta. Book a Tour enrolCreated with Sketch Beta. Enrol Now userCreated with Sketch Beta. Contact Us